Welcome Mojgan: An Interview

Full name: Amaneh Jadidi is my full name but I prefer everyone calls me Mojgan—that’s the name my mother gave me.

Where did you work before ESSE? I did my post-doc here since September 2014, but I was also an intern for Metrolinx for 8 months beginning November 2015. I did my PhD at the University of Laval in Quebec; I did my PhD thesis in Geospatial Data Cube Design for Risk Assessment. I lived there for 6 years and in my time there, I had my daughter Amytis. Before that, I did my Master’s in France and Italy.

What did you find the most challenging when you moved to Quebec?  French as a language was difficult to work and learn in as it’s so different from my mother tongue, but I believe that with practice and patience, you can do anything.

What’s a big difference you’ve noticed between Laval and York? Laval was mostly French and French-Canadians and it’s much more multicultural here, even at the faculty level. It’s nice because you never feel ‘alone’.

What did you like best about TAing at Laval? Being with the students, it was interesting to see the amount of effort they put into understanding and their willingness to learn. They can really make you think in a different way as well.

Which courses will you be teaching? Adjustment Calculus and Advanced Geospatial Technique.

If you could create any course at York, which course would you create? I’d love to do a Geospatial database design course here.

Which part of teaching is most exciting to you? Working with students, challenging them, and sparking their curiosity.

Favourite thing about York? It’s like a family, which I really like about Lassonde—people care about you and your role and there are a lot of opportunities for growth.

Favourite building at York? The Bergeron—I worked with the BIM  so I was working for a while with the data that was to be turned into the building. I like going there and knowing that I’m seeing all of the data that I worked with, realized.

What’s a big lesson you’ve learned during your time at York? Never give up.

What’s your pet peeve? Messy labs and rooms.

Favourite Quote? “Wherever you go, there you are”.

Favourite Colour? Red.

Favourite Food? Anything with pesto!

Favourite movie? Pride and Prejudice: the Hollywood version is nice, but my favourite is the BBC series.

If you could be any age, which age would you choose? 18, that’s the age you choose your university and your major. For me, that’s the age where I really learned to be independent as I had to move out and go to a different city. You have energy, a desire for adventure, and a fresh mind—it’s a golden age.

Do you have any hobbies? Photography, travelling… I’m terrible at sports!

Where would you like to travel to?  Italy for sure—Florence. The food, wine, weather are all good and the people are nice. It’s extraordinary North to South.

Summer/Winter, Apple/PC, Coffee/Tea, Ketchup/Mustard/Relish.